go home

back


11.18.22

I really don't like parties. Never been to one, never plan to. I don't like the sound of parties, the smells, the overwhelming lights, all the strangers. Its way too much sensory input. ESPECIALLY when we are still in the middle of a pandemic, I really don't understand how people feel comfortable going to them regularly.

The first and last time I went to something large and social was earlier this month, going to a dinner outing with a group of people I'd loosely call friends. Other than that, I prefer 1:1 meals or eating alone. I don't hate people- in fact I really like meeting new people and getting to know them. I just don't like very large bustling social gatherings.

So I write this, curled up in my living room, pretty cozy and listening to youtube videos while working on my website. Not a bad way to spend a Friday night.

11.17.22

I have been learning to code in Notepad largely using Mozilla guides and W3Schools. For like, two months, I tried crafting my site cobbling together what little I knew of HTML from my very brief experience with twine years ago. My goal was to build something beautiful and elaborate because I had seen so many beautiful websites on neocities...I have a bad habit of getting way too ambitious -_-. As you might be able to guess, things didn't work out!!


I realized my expectations were way too high. I decided to look thru geocities archives to get inspiration, as well as the 'newest', 'random' and 'last updated' tabs on neocities. It was a great place to start, and instead of feeling intimidated I began to get excited. I could really build my own webbed site.


My system for learning things can seem very weird to an outsider. I tend to learn sporadically, jumping around skill ranges, and without heavy guidance. For example, I can play tons of songs on the guitar by ear and I can fingerpick pretty well, but I haven't gotten around to learning what the strings are called. Same with piano-I know how to play by ear and do basic chords but I can't read music yet. My coding journey has been similar. I've jumped around from skill to skill, slowly working on the basics while also working on learning pixel art for fancy graphix. I hope to learn stuff like flexbox and divs soon so I can actually organize and align the various elements I have on my site.


Various other random thoughts: